Best records of 2008

So my first post of 2009 is about 2008. Guess I’m living in the past ahah.

I think we all do a little bit of retrospective by this time of the year, but I don’t wanna turn this blog into some soap opera shit, so I’ll keep my life retrospectives to myself and I’m gonna write ’bout music.

Inspired by the 50 Best Albums of 2008 list that I recently read on Pitchfork (which by the way made me realise I don’t really know that much ’bout what’s going on in the world of music), I decided to make a list myself.
These were the records that made an impact on me during the year, the first 1o are the ones which easily came to my mind writing this post…maybe not the best of the best, but the ones I felt more. The rest don’t have a specific order so I’ll call them honorable mentions.

Top 10 Best records of 2008

  1. Dirty Money – No Escaping This
  2. Trapped Under Ice – Stay Cold
  3. Reign Supreme – American Violence
  4. GZA – Pro Tools
  5. Blacklisted – Heavier Than Heaven Lonelier Than God
  6. The Kooks – Konk
  7. N.E.R.D – Seeing Sounds
  8. City And Colour – Bring Me Your Love
  9. Russian Circles – Station
  10. Snowgoons – Black Snow

Honorable Mentions

  • Bloc Party – Intimacy
  • Evidence – The Layover
  • 3OH!3 – Want
  • Ill Bill – The Hour Of Reprisal
  • Termanology – Politics As Usual
  • The Mars Volta – The Bedlam In Goliath
  • Yak Ballz – Scifentology II
  • Heltah Skeltah – D.I.R.T.
  • Bomb The Bass – Future Chaos
  • Crystal Castles – Crystal Castles
  • Portishead – Third

Obviously the list is restricted to my own tastes. As you can see I’m not that much into electronic music or metal, and I don’t take commercial music that much into consideration, otherwise I’d hat to put Beyoncé, Katy Perry, Lil Wayne or even Kanye West on this list.
Oh, and sorry ’bout not linking the artists and not putting covers and stuff…I’m sure the interested people that actually read this blog know how to use google.

If anyone has suggestions to stuff that should be on this list, keep them comments comming.

Leave a Reply

