KNOWLEDGE REIGNS $UPREME

“Knowledge reigns supreme over nearly everybody” – Would you agree that’s a true and universal statement?

Ana, my new interviewee, apparently agrees. And you know what? Me too.

Her blog was actually one of the very first ones I started to read, maybe even the first one written by a portuguese blogger. I got into it not cause all the posts had contents of my personal interest, but mainly due to the fact that I wanted to know what she had to say ’bout stuff…her own perspective on art, fashion, culture and life itself is the theme to the blog, and that inspired me and made me want to do something similar.

So let’s cut the formalities, and introduce you the words and thoughts of Ana, the blogger from Knowledge Reigns $upreme, and one of the responsibles for the existence of my blog:

Bungee jumping, would you do it?
A: I guess so.

What’s the latest objective you’ve accomplished? (personal, professional, whatever)
A:
Writing and being responsible for the lifestyle section of a magazine. It is, actually, a pro bono work but it’s really worthy.

What’s the origin of your blog’s name?
A: The original name came from a well known rapper that I admire named KRS-ONE (Knowledge Reigns Supreme Over Nearly Everybody). Despite the blog name, I truly believe knowledge is the most powerful weapon a man can possess.
The whole name was way too long though, so I shortened it to knowledgereignssupreme.blogspot.com, the message is there anyways.

Best restaurant you ever ate on?
A: Terra.

It’s Sunday and there’s nothing to do, any original idea?
A: Grab my camera, meet someone, go for a walk or riding a bike somewhere.

Your favorite band.
A: Way too many but, of all times, The Smiths, Beatles and Metallica.

What movie has recently disappointed you the most?
A:
Youth Without Youth, Francis Ford Coppola.

What brought you to the blogging world?
A: My dear friends started a blog about sneakers, streetwear and street culture (all good things come in pairs, check it) and I thought it would be a good idea to share some of my favourite things with interesting people. So I did.
My blog is way different than theirs but they were the ones to blame for the birth of knowledgereignssupreme.blogspot.com.

Recently you’ve been making more visual posts, leaving out extended texts ‘bout the contents presented…Is it on purpose, or just something impulsive and random? Do you think a lot before posting something new?

A: I don’t, actually. Now, that you refer it, I think my blog grew along with me.
First I wanted to have my say about everything, meanwhile I realized sometimes words are meaningless. Some images say more than a thousand words. When I feel an urge to say anything about something than I do, but some things, especially when it comes to visual culture and art itself, are better left unsaid. It’s up to the viewer himself to get the message.

What drives you in life? (legs or means of transportation not accepted as an answer)
A: A clear vision of a bright future.

Fell free to express yourself, last thoughts or whatever:

A: All I can do is be me. Whoever that is.

KNOWLEDGE REIGNS $UPREME BLOG

3 Responses to “KNOWLEDGE REIGNS $UPREME”


  1. 1 vanessa 4 February, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    sweet!!!!
    gosto muito do blog da ana!!e ela tem razao,há imagens que valem mais que mil palavras!!

  2. 2 Ana 6 February, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    obrigada Vanessa, obrigada Ema. Muito queridos


  1. 1 Link changes « WALKtheWALK Trackback on 14 April, 2010 at 11:00 am

Leave a Reply

