Invaders Must Die

“You’re a mug,
That’s why I had to cut you down,
You run with the wolves while I hunt like a hound,
You run with the wolves, shout it out loud.”

The Prodigy – Run With The Wolves

I still remember years ago when I watched the video for Breathe…on that moment, I discovered there was actually some electronic music worth listening.
It had the rawness of Punk, it was heavy hitting like a Metal guitar riff and still I could somehow make dance moves to the sound of it. On that day I also discovered my favorite electronic band ’till this day: The Prodigy.

Gladly, I’d even say surprisingly, considering the state of music industry nowadays, with bands selling out and changing sonorities from album to album to fit the mainstream market, The Prodigy managed to keep their distinct style alive, while never being afraid to explore new fields.

Yes I know, some will say the last album was more “light”, more “dance” than “hard”, not as good as the first stuff…whatever you wanna call it…it’s true. But do this, watch the clip bellow:

Do you see chicks bouncing on lowrider hydraulics, or guest appearances by Hip-Hop’s well-known names? No. It’s creepy, it’s raw, it’s The Prodigy and this is what they do best. Better than many copycats out there, I’d  say.

The video is the second single from the new album, named Invaders Must Die, coming out in 2 weeks I think.

I’ve been listening to this new record non-stop since yesterday and I can now declare that overall it’s a better effort than Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned…it has some outcast tracks, but it gets hardcore again, with heavy guitars on most of the tracks and the voices of Keith and Maxim again doing the vocal work.
Actually, the big fail in Always Outnumbered… was the lack of the vocalists. They bring the attitude, that distinct human character to the band, and this new Invaders Must Die reminds me exactly why I was missing something on the previous record.

So declare war to all those mugs out there and shout it out loud that The Prodigy are back, and they’re bringing that real hard hitting music again.

THE PRODIGY MYSPACE

4 Responses to “Invaders Must Die”


  1. 1 pedrocas 9 February, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    maricas, ia por essa review 😛 ahaha tá boa mano, é como eu digo isto soa-me a um album q podia perfeitamente ser editado entre o experience e o fat of the land. é claro q estas batidas e a manipulação sonora é muito recente mas ta com um power que deixa qq um louco. ja tinha ouvido as demos e sinceramente nem tava com muitas expectativas para o album mas aquela warriors dance, world’s on fire e a piranha para mim tao qq cena do outro mundo.
    Ainda bem q voltaram ao que era bom!

  2. 2 vanessa 9 February, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    la me fazes ir sacar o album 😉
    boa review!

  3. 3 hermano 20 February, 2009 at 10:50 am

    amo prodigy, tenho tanta pena de os ter visto quando ainda apenas onhecia o fat of the land. quando voltarem irei de certeza sentir uns beats electronicos a apoderarem-se do meu vortex cerebral!

  4. 4 Dentist in Waterloo 7 June, 2014 at 4:28 pm

    My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and
    find most of your post’s to be exactly what I’m
    looking for. can you offer guest writers to write content for you?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on many
    of the subjects you write concerning here. Again, awesome blog!


Leave a Reply

