Soul 2 Sole

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Created by: David Park

You just gotta love this video! At least if you’re into sneakers ahah.

Just the other day, as I was having a discussion with a friend about my exaggerated (according to her) amount of sneakers, I realized that my notions of fashion come largely from the way I educate myself.
Taste can be educated too, and therefore suffer changes, and talking to someone who doesn’t really get the concept of expressing codes/symbolisms/knowledges through your clothing, and cherishing fashion items because you know their general history/meaning, made me realize that you can only like what you understand (at least partially).

When I did an essay about hip-hop as a subculture and its impact on various levels of society and mainstream culture for one of my classes, one of the most important aspects I focused was the expression of individual and communitarian ideas and symbolisms through fashion. I think somehow I stuck with that concept, and the readings I did about the theme in general, and today I can say I love the video on the top of this post cause I understand the feelings and the meanings behind it, although I wasn’t part of that era.

First seen at DFLEKTOR Blog.

1 Response to “Soul 2 Sole”


  1. 1 LiMpA_ViAs 22 May, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    Man a sério, adorei mesmo este teu post! Tenho msm pena de nao ter mais dinheiro para comprar os tenis que quero. Entre Adidas Classic, Stan Smith, Clyde, Dunk-Low, Air 90 já fui tendo uns clássicos, mas tenho msm pena de nao ter dinheiro para poder ter mais!

    Curtia ler um ou dois desses essays que falaste neste post!


Leave a Reply

