Just skate a little

I used my interview/appliance at my new future school (RESTART) as an excuse to spend the rest of the day skating at Parque das Nações (previously known as EXPO 98, if you recall what that was).

Unfortunately there aren’t a lot of skateable spots allover the area…in some places you can clearly notice they designed the floor to keep skaters away (concrete plates with gaps in between? c’mon…wasn’t it easier to just lay a whole layer of concrete on the floor?), but anywhow, I had lots of fun skating the outside floor of the old Pavilhão do Conhecimento (Knowledge Pavilion) and the Vodafone building…two places I would never imagine to lay my small wheels on.

I also visited the (mini) skatepark over there…I didn’t find it as good as I had heard, but it’s a reasonable spot with enough conditions to try out some serious stuff. I’m a lone wolf when it comes to skating, and I ain’t got no skills at all, so I ended up not trying the verts, mainly because of the crowd of skaters already using the place, but I decided I’m gonna go there at the break of dawn to enjoy the place just for myself.

I think I fell in love with the whole area of Parque das Nações yesterday…the little hills full of fresh grass and the Tejo river right in front of your eyes…very relaxing place. I hope to enjoy more of it in the near future. And I finally did some proper skating.

It’s cool to get home with that feeling of a well spent day.

And since I didn’t take any pictures, I leave you with an excert from Creature‘s Born Dead skate video that I watched over this weekend:

Full trailer here.

3 Responses to “Just skate a little”


  1. 1 akacorleone 14 July, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    damn, tenho tantas saudades d skatar, infelizmente fodi os tornozelos todos niss e hj só de saltar um gap, fico logo arrumado, o que me deixa deprimido…
    sinto mesmo falta do feeling de encontrar um novo spot e tentar tudo o que fosse possivel, de passar o dia obcecado com um trick k tinha k acertar de alguma forma, de comprar uma tábua nova e riscala toda c boardslides, tailslides etc, tenho saudades de ver sempre os memso videos, o primeiro que tive foi uma da pig wheels, ja nem me lembro mas devia ser de 99, de filmar cenas k na valem nada mas que para nós era já era abusado, dos amigos que fiz, alguns ainda passam os dias na praça da figueira…

    um dia volto a comprar uma tabua pa curtir um bocado…

    bom post!

  2. 2 dOmy 14 July, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    ema combina la um sk8!!!

  3. 3 limpa_vias 14 July, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    parke das nações é topo! dos sitios onde mais fui com a minha namorada na fase do engate ahahah


Leave a Reply

