Beirut

Some weeks ago, on the final class of my first module in school, our teacher took me and my colleagues to his private recording studio, and amongst many of his personal music projects, he showed us Beirut.

The song was “Nantes” and I immediately recognized the melody from somewhere in the back of my mind. I didn’t know the name of the artist until that day, but I kept it with me until two weeks ago, when I got time to do some proper browsing and downloading.
I’m now completely addicted to this band. The melodies got stuck in my head…I think I never even heard folk or at least payed any attention to that genre or whatever connects with it, but Beirut mixes influences from all over the world and manages to create moments of intensity in almost every song, sounding updated at the same time.

This is probably old news for the more music updated readers, but I really get excited when I discover something that touches me rather than just entertain.
I’ll leave you with 2 amazing interpretations of the song I was talking about on the beginning of the post:

After seeing these videos a bunch of times, I still can’t believe how they nailed the acoustic on the second one…it’s a whole building and yet it sounds almost perfect!

5 Responses to “Beirut”


  1. 1 A Constant Refrain 3 December, 2009 at 6:52 pm

    isto foi a cena que me mostras-te no barco nao foi?
    é nice anyway, mas não há muita paciencia para os videos passado dois minutos.

    * (L)

  2. 2 jmnpm 4 December, 2009 at 12:24 am

    Beirut é bem bom. Ouve o March of the Zapotec, deves curtir

  3. 3 akacorleone 12 December, 2009 at 5:26 am

    beirut é genial…

    n me canso d ouvir!

  4. 4 joaoxcordeiro 16 December, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    A Nantes é o meu despertador praticamente desde que o The Flying Club Cup saíu.

  5. 5 Rola 10 February, 2010 at 11:01 am

    Im a women and like to open my small business but i didn’t found any support for me! but suddenly someone surprise me and give me a help it was a small loan but for me im so happy coz it was the start and the begining of my success , so coz of that im here now posting just to say so rarely to found these days person who care.


Leave a Reply

