Best records of 2009

I don’t like to admit it, but I’m a man of habits.
That been said, I’m gonna repeat what I did last year and start this brand new 2010 with a post about the best records of the preceding year.

2009 was in many ways a weak year…I mean, I can pick out the first 4 or 5 records that had an impact on me, but bellow that it all becomes very blurred. I really had a hard time numbering down the first 10, and even defining what was truly worth to put on the honorable mentions.
But anyway, here it goes:

Top 10 Best records of 2009

  1. Raekwon – Only Built 4 Cuban Linx… Pt II
  2. Trapped Under Ice – Secrets Of The World
  3. Mos Def – The Ecstatic
  4. Architects – Hollow Crown
  5. P.O.S – Never Better
  6. Bat For Lashes – Two Suns
  7. Ruiner – Hell Is Empty
  8. Grizzly Bear – Veckatimest
  9. Rise And Fall – Our Circle Is Vicious
  10. Defeater – Lost Ground

Honorable Mentions

  • Phoenix – Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix
  • Animal Collective – Merriweather Post Pavilion
  • Fever Ray – Fever Ray
  • Beirut – March of the Zapotec – Holland
  • Kickback – No Surrender
  • Macacos do Chinês – Ruídos Reais
  • Blaq Poet – Tha Blaqprint
  • Zion I – The TakeOver
  • Thrice – Beggars

Again, as said on the top from 2008, keep in mind that this is my personal opinion based on my personal tastes.
What about your top 10’s? Let me know if I’m missing something really great from last year!

2 Responses to “Best records of 2009”


  1. 1 joaoxcordeiro 2 January, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    Três deles estão na minha lista, logo, só posso concordar e apreciar. Provavelmente poderiam ser qatro, se tivesse inclido os EP’s. Otros não conheço e\o não são do me gosto.
    Não sei se chegaste a ovir o novo de Brother Ali (Us). À medida qe o tenho ovido, chego à conclsão qe é o 2º melhor álbm rap do ano. Fora POS claro, qe desse sô fanboy.

    PS.
    Tô sem a letra qe fica entre o “Y” e o “I” lol.

  2. 2 A Constant Refrain 4 January, 2010 at 11:13 am

    tiro o beggars de thrice, ponho ghost of a thousand. e punha Kickback no best records.
    algumas coisas nao conheço e outras nao prestei ainda muita atenção, como POS, Phoenix, fever ray e alguns simplesmente nao ouvi porque nao apeteceu tbm lol.

    mas ta fiche o best records, ta fiche
    (L)


Leave a Reply

