Anvil! The Story of Anvil

I saw this documentary almost two months ago, late in the night and laid on my bed…my highest expectations for it were aiming at falling asleep only after the first half, even tough I downloaded it based on the good critics and overall opinions that I read on the web.

I’m not a big fan of metal, even less the metal played by Anvil, but I can tell you from start this film has close to nothing to do with the musical style played by the band. This is a movie about friendship, sticking to your dreams and never giving up. It’s truly a story of humanity and a very inspiring one.
Not only I saw the whole film very far away from falling asleep, but when it ended I felt nothing but a great sense of respect for the two main “characters”.

Anvil! The Story of Anvil follows the life of Steve “Lips” Kudlow and Robb Reiner, the founding members of the band, while they try to recover old glory and record an album hoping to bring back the (deserved) recognition from the public and the industry.

As I was expecting, the approach to their story is very raw and direct: you see musicians that get almost no money from music and have to work a “day job” to pay the bills, you’re shown the hardships of touring with little resources, you experience how thorny friendships become under pressure and relations get complicated to deal with when the main project of your life is a band, and you get a straight to the point vision on how expensive and difficult it is to create a good album, with a good producer, and get a record label behind it for a major release.

While watching this documentary, I found myself thinking that in many ways these guys were very much like any hardcore band, they even did things more DIY than some hardcore bands I know…and although Lips tries to justify their actions with the pursuit of fame and glory, you understand that deep down he’s just not giving up on his youth dream, like we all should never give up on ours, no matter age or financial obstacles.

Up until writing this post I had never heard a complete track from Anvil, and I only did now to put the link to their space on the bottom of this post, but this documentary made me want to go see them live, if not for the music at least to support these great guys with such heart.

A true documentary in terms of directing and storytelling and specially in matters of touching your soul. A must see for everyone. And don’t get surprised if you find yourself with a tear on the corner of your eye on some  scenes, even if they are backed by a heavy soundtrack.

IMDB LINK

TRAILER

ANVIL MYSPACE

1 Response to “Anvil! The Story of Anvil”


  1. 1 Gonçalo Dias 27 January, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    Está na minha lista de espera esse. Talvez me tenhas dado o empurrão.


Leave a Reply

